What’s the Take Home Message?

The THM

I’ve learned so much during my time in this class. It’s given me a lot to think about as an educator.

Of course, the most important question to be answered after any experience is what was gained from it? What’s the take home message?

For me, this class has made me think about how I can integrate mobile learning, motivation, and Open Education Resources (OER)s in my classroom and personal life.

The ubiquity of mobile technology appears to be an inevitable part the future. It is estimated that the number of smart phones and tablets sold in 2016 will be 1.34 billion and 384 million respectively (Ally, 2013). With hope, educators begin to use more this pervasivness of mobile technology in the classroom. Mobile technology can be used for both informal and formal learning (Ally, 2013). Moreover, students can learn on the move or at anytime they want to learn (Ally, 2013). I defintely want to use it more in my classroom because today’s students are so comfortable with it and helps me to be all the more effective.

As for my personal life, I use mobile technology already and will continue to do so. My phone is used to help me keep order of different tasks that I have to do, online banking, record videos, and so much more. Every year, mobile technology gets more advanced and increases its capabilities. I want to make sure I am aware of those different improvements so that I can gauge whether or not they are useful in my personal or professional life.This course has led me to do that.

Taking this course has also helped me gain a better understanding of motivation. Knowing how to motivate others is a powerful skill to have. It is especially beneficial in education. After taking this class, I try to make sure that whatever I have my students do in class motivates them intrinsically. Intrinsic motivation helps the learner engage in an activity because it produces inherently positive consequences such as helping him/her become more knowledgeable, competent, and independent (Burwell, 2008). That’s the environment for which I shoot everyday in my classroom. I want my students to feel as if they are attaining something more than just a grade.

Within my personal life, I am all the more cognizant of what is fueling me to do something because this class has helped me pinpoint the different types of motivation there are. Is the motivation intrinsic, is it extrinsic, or do I just have a need for achievement? I now have the knowledge to ask myself these questions and this helps me understand my course of action.

Before this class, I had never heard of the acronym or phrase OER. Like most times in life, we often do things and do not know they have a proper name. OERs are teaching, learning or research materials that are for free use, adaptation and distribution (Hatzipanagos & Gregson, 2014). Moreover, they are widely available to everyone teachers, students and self-learners online (Hatzipanagos & Gregson, 2014). Examples of OERs include full courses, syllabi, lectures, homework assignments, classroom activities, games and many more resources (Hatzipanagos & Gregson, 2014). This course has helped me understand that these different materials are OERs and expose me to even more. I now have more options to assist me with being more creative and enhancing my students’ experience.

Within my personal life, I can now use my new knowledge of different types of OERs in order to allow me do some informal learning of my own such as learning a new language or how to find a great bowling technique.

Digital Media Teaching and Learning has made me a more informed educator. Because of this course, I will continuously research different ways to implement mobile technology into my curriculum., reflect upon how I am motivating my students, and hunt for different OERS that may be effective in my classes. I am truly thankful for the wealth of knowledge this class has provided me.

Class Question: Are there any OERs with which you were not familiar to this class? Do you plan to use OERs in your classroom? If so, which ones and why? If not, why not?

Link to Video (DeMarco, 2015): Intrinsic vs. Extrinsic  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPDCdGgjxfc

References

Ally, M. (2013). Mobile learning: From research to practice to Impact Education. Learning & Teaching In Higher Education: Gulf Perspectives, 10(2), 1-10.

Burwell. (2008, December 12). Motivation. [Slideshow]. Retrieved from http://www.slideshare.net/drburwell/motivation2008-presentation

DeMarco, E. (2015, March 4). Intrinsic and extrinsic motivation in education: Definition & examples. Youtube. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPDCdGgjxfc

Hatzipanagos, S., & Gregson, J. (2014). The role of open access and open educational resources: A distance learning perspective. Proceedings Of The International Conference On E-Learning, 265-271.

Citation for Photo:  400 × 400 – acgt.me 

 

Published by: Jim Lee

I am an educator by day and an educator by night! I love what I do and want to ultimately be a positive force in this world before its all said and done.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

