Learning Mind Map & Reflection

When creating my mind map, I first thought about what learning meant to me as a student and a teacher. Then, I read through the class materials to see what the education world had to say about learning.

For me, learning is the following: Student-centered, personal, an active process, and varied/multifaceted.

I think that learning is student-centered because I believe that students learn better by doing. In my own class, I know that if I lecture, the information I teach students seems to pass over them. Moreover, they don’t ask any questions. It is not until I create activities for them to do that they are more engaged and are more inquisitive. It is just a fresher approach.

Learning is personal because individualizing learning experiences intrigue students more and they seem to comprehend a lot better. Additionally, I think that learning is an active not passive process. Students are just not empty vessels that are waiting to be filled. They need to be active participants in their learning experience. This means they have to get in and “get their hands dirty” in order for learning journey to be more meaningful.

Lastly, I think that learning is varied/multifaceted. The way that students acquire information is different. They all have their different intelligences that do not fit into the one-size-fits-all model (lecturing). When teaching, I make certain to create activities that appeal to different learning styles.

After reading through the class materials, I found that some voices in education think that learning should be cost effective, tech-enabled, and integrated by design (2 Revolutions, 2012).

Learning must be cost-effective meaning it needs to produce good results without costing a lot. Unfortunately, in the US, expenditures have increased over the last several decades but performance has not (Encounter Books, 2013). Moreover, the graduation rate has remained stagnant at 75% (Encounter Books, 2013). Thus, we as a nation need to take step back and see if the money spent on education is being used to actually help enhance students’ learning.

Learning should be tech-enabled meaning schools should be pushing for technologies that work and are effective (2 Revolutions, 2012). A one-for-one laptop program for students should not exist for students if it does not help enhance their learning experience.

Finally, learning should be integrated by design (2 Revolutions, 2012). This means it should address all parts that create a student’s experience including what they learn, how they learn, how much they learn, where their learning takes place, when it takes place, and whose involved in the experience (2 Revolutions, 2012).

References

2 Revolutions. (2012, January 3). The future of learning. [Video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xoSJ3_dZcm8

Encounter Books (2013, June 3). The K-12 Implosion. [Video]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXoubX4wncw

File  Mind Map Unit 1.1.xmind (36.529 KB)

Published by: Jim Lee

I am an educator by day and an educator by night! I love what I do and want to ultimately be a positive force in this world before its all said and done.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

